Focus Achievement Award Recognizes Contributions to Film and TV Industries

The 2006 recipients for the Women In Film/Chicago Focus Award are actress and director Bonnie Hunt and television producer Thea Flaum. This award honors women who have contributed significantly to the film, television, advertising and corporate productions industries, and who have a tie to Chicago and the Midwest.

Women In Film/Chicago (WIFC) Chapter was originally founded in 1983. At its height the membership count was more than 700 people ‘ 80% of them women. This network of women has grown internationally with over forty WIF chapters worldwide spanning four continents, eighteen countries and 10,000 global members. This year’s event coincides with the 42nd Chicago International Film Festival running October 5-19, 2006.

Bonnie Hunt, actress, director and producer is well known for her roles in such movies as Cars, Cheaper By The Dozen, Jumanji and Stolen Summer. Ms. Hunt also co-starred, directed and served as screenwriter for the 2000 release Return To Me, filmed in her own Chicago neighborhood. Ms. Hunt received Golden Globe nominations for Best Actress in a Television Series in 2002 and 2003.

Thea Flaum serves as a beacon for the Chicago production community. Following the position of Executive Producer at WTTW, Ms. Flaum founded her own Chicago based independent production company, Thea Flaum Productions, in 1984. She has earned nine Emmy awards, ten international film awards, a Cine Golden Eagle and a Golden Apple. She recently served as Vice President of the National Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Past recipients include Carol Marin (broadcast journalist, WMAQ-TV), Joyce Sloan (creative director, Second City) and Kathy Bates (Academy Award winning actress) and Ruth Ratny (editor/publisher Amy Jacobson of NBC5/WMAQ TV will be emcee for the event.

The reception begins at 11:15 a.m. October 10, with the awards luncheon to begin at noon, at the Ritz/Carlton Chicago Ballroom, 160 E. Pearson St. Tickets cost $90 for WIFC members and $125 for non-members. Discounts are offered for tables of 10. To reserve, email