Cinematographer John Bailey, ASC (Ordinary People, Groundhog Day, A Walk in the Woods) was elected the 36th president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) by the group’s Board of Governors on Tuesday night.

Bailey has been a governor representing the organization’s cinematography branch for 13 years, the Academy said. The first cinematographer to become president of the organization, Bailey succeeds outgoing AMPAS President Cheryl Boone Isaacs in the role.

Also elected to officer positions last night were make-up artist Lois Burwell, first VP and chair of the Academy’s Awards and Events Committee; producer Kathleen Kennedy, VP and chair of the Museum Committee, film editor Michael Tronick, VP and chair of the preservation and history committee, Fox Searchlight Co-President Nancy Utley, VP and chair of the Education and Outreach Committee, Paramount Pictures Chairman and CEO Jim Gianopulos, treasurer and chair of the Finance Committee, and casting director David Rubin, secretary and chair of the Membership and Administration Committee.

Dawn Hudson remains on as AMPAS CEO for at least another three years, through 2020, following her contract extension earlier this year.

Academy Board of Governors: