The Hollywood Professional Association (HPA) announced the nominees for its 2016 HPA Awards honoring achievement in editing, sound, VFX and color-grading.

Mostly, the HPA Awards spread the wealth among different projects and facilities, although there were a couple of categories where a single company dominated. Company 3, for example, earned five out of seven total nominations for color-grading on a commercial. Factory earned four of five nominations for outstanding sound in a commercial, and ILM and Framestore each got three out of five in the categories of VFX for feature films and commercials, respectively.

The award-winners will be announced during a ceremony on November 17 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles. Among the other awards to be handed out are the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented to Herb Dow, ACE, the Charles S. Swartz Awards, which is being given to Aspera CEO Michelle Munson, and the Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation, which is going to The Mill's Blackbird.

The Engineering Excellence Award will be given to Aspera, Grass Valley, RealD, and SGO, with Grass Valley and Canon USA receiving Honorable Mentions. 

The complete list of 2016 HPA Award nominees as provided by the organization follows:

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film
John Dowdell // Goldcrest Post Productions Ltd

The Revenant
Steven J. Scott // Technicolor Production Services

Asa Shoul // Molinare    

The Martian
Stephen Nakamura // Company 3

The Jungle Book
Steven J. Scott // Technicolor Production Services

Outstanding Color Grading – Television
Vinyl "E.A.B"
Steven Bodner // Deluxe/Encore NY

Fargo "The Myth of Sysiphus"
Mark Kueper // Technicolor

Outlander "Faith"
Steven Porter // MTI Film

Gotham "By Fire"
Paul Westerbeck // Encore Hollywood

Show Me A Hero "Part 1"
Sam Daley // Technicolor PostWorks NY

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial
Fallout 4 – "The Wanderer"
Siggy Ferstl // Company 3

Toyota Prius – "Poncho"
Sofie Borup // Company 3

Nascar – "Team"
Lez Rudge // Nice Shoes

Audi R8 – "Commander"
Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Apple Music – "History of Sound"
Gregory Reese // The Mill

Pennzoil – "Joyride Circuit"
Dave Hussey // Company 3

Hennessy – "Odyssey"
Tom Poole // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film
The Martian
Pietro Scalia, ACE

The Revenant
Stephen Mirrione, ACE

The Big Short
Hank Corwin, ACE

Joe Walker, ACE

Tom McArdle, ACE

Outstanding Editing – Television
"Body Team 12"
David Darg // RYOT Films

Underground "The Macon 7"
Zack Arnold, Ian Tan // Sony Pictures Television

Vinyl "Pilot"
David Tedeschi

Roots "Night One"
Martin Nicholson, ACE, Greg Babor

Game of Thrones "Battle of the Bastards"
Tim Porter, ACE
Outstanding Editing – Commercial
Wilson – "Nothing Without It"
Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Nespresso – "Training Day"
Chris Franklin // Big Sky Edit

Saucony – "Be A Seeker"
Lenny Mesina // Therapy Studios

Samsung – "Teresa"
Kristin McCasey // Therapy Studios

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film
Steve Fanagan, Niall Brady, Ken Galvin // Ardmore Sound

Eye In The Sky
Craig Mann, Adam Jenkins, Bill R. Dean, Chase Keehn // Technicolor Creative Services

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
Scott Hecker // Formosa Group
Chris Jenkins, Michael Keller // Warner Bros. Post Production Services

David Fluhr, CAS, Gabriel Guy, CAS, Addison Teague // Walt Disney Company

Alan Murray, Tom Ozanich, John Reitz // Warner Bros. Post Production Services

Outstanding Sound – Television
Outlander "Prestonpans"
Nello Torri, Alan Decker // NBCUniversal Post Sound

Game of Thrones "Battle of the Bastards"
Tim Kimmel, MPSE, Paula Fairfield, Mathew Waters, CAS, Onnalee Blank, CAS, Bradley C. Katona, Paul Bercovitch // Formosa Group

Preacher "See"
Richard Yawn, Mark Linden, Tara Paul // Sony Sound

Marco Polo "One Hundred Eyes"
David Paterson, Roberto Fernandez, Alexa Zimmerman, Glenfield Payne, Rachel Chancey // Harbor Picture Company

House of Cards "Chapter 45"
Jeremy Molod, Ren Klyce, Nathan Nance, Scott R. Lewis, Jonathan Stevens // Skywalker Sound

Outstanding Sound – Commercial
Sainsbury's – "Mog's Christmas Calamity"
Anthony Moore, Neil Johnson // Factory

Save the Children UK – "Still The Most Shocking Second A Day"
Jon Clarke // Factory

Wilson – "Nothing Without It"
Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Honda – "Paper"
Phil Bolland // Factory

Honda – "Ignition"
Anthony Moore // Factory

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film
Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Jay Cooper, Yanick Dusseault, Rick Hankins, Carlos Munoz, Polly Ing // Industrial Light & Magic

The Jungle Book
Robert Legato, Andrew R. Jones
Adam Valdez, Charley Henley // MPC
Keith Miller // Weta Digital

Captain America: Civil War
Russell Earl, Steve Rawlins, Francois Lambert, Pat Conran, Rhys Claringbull // Industrial Light & Magic

The Martian
Chris Lawrence, Neil Weatherley, Bronwyn Edwards, Dale Newton // Framestore

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows
Pablo Helman, Robert Weaver, Kevin Martel, Shawn Kelly, Nelson Sepulveda // Industrial Light & Magic

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television
Supergirl "Pilot"
Armen V. Kevorkian, Andranik Taranyan, Gevork Babityan, Elaina Scott, Art Sayan // Encore VFX

Ripper Street "The Strangers' Home"
Ed Bruce, Nicholas Murphy, Denny Cahill, John O'Connell // Screen Scene

Black Sails "XXI"
Erik Henry // Starz
Matt Dougan // Digital Domain
Martin Ogren, Jens Tenland, Nicklas Andersson // ILP

The Flash "Guerilla Warfare"
Armen V. Kevorkian, Thomas J. Conners, Andranik Taranyan, Gevork Babityan, Jason Shulman // Encore VFX

Game of Thrones "Battle of the Bastards"
Joe Bauer, Eric Carney // Fire & Blood Productions
Derek Spears // Rhythm & Hues Studios
Glenn Melenhorst // Iloura
Matthew Rouleau // Rodeo FX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial
Sainsbury's – "Mog's Christmas Calamity"
Ben Cronin, Grant Walker, Rafael Camacho // Framestore

Microsoft Xbox – "Halo 5: The Hunt Begins"
Ben Walsh, Ian Holland, Brian Delmonico, Brian Burke // Method Studios

AT&T – "Power of &"
James Dick, Corrina Wilson, Euna Kho, Callum McKeveny // Framestore

Kohler – "Never Too Next"
Andy Boyd, Jake Montgomery, Zachary DiMaria, David Hernandez // JAMM

Gatorade – "Sports Fuel"
JD Yepes, Richard Shallcross // Framestore