Other Winners Include Fabian Wagner, Tod Campbell, Igor Martinovic, and Gorka Gómez Andreu

Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS, shot one of the biggest studio blockbusters this year (Rogue One), but he's earning accolades for his work on a much smaller project: Lion, mounted by production company See-Saw Films. On Saturday, Fraser won the American Society of Cinematographers Award for outstanding achievement in cinematography in a theatrically released motion picture.

Trailer: House of Others

Winning in the Spotlight category, recognizing work in films that play only in limited release, was Gorka Gómez Andreu, AEC, for House of Others, which was Georgia's official submission to the Academy Awards for Best Foreign Language Film.  Andreu shot the film at 1.33:1 using the Red Epic MX.


Game of Thrones: "Battle of the Bastards"

Other winners included Fabian Wagner, BSC, for the Game of Thrones episode "Battle of the Bastards"; Tod Campbell for the Mr. Robot episode "eps2.0_unm4sk-pt1.tc"; and Igor Martinovic for The Night Of episode "Subtle Beast." All of the winners this year were first-timers, the ASC said, though Wagner had previously been nominated for other Game of Thrones episodes.

Here's the full list of nominees and winners at this year's ASC Awards, as provided by the ASC:

Theatrical Release Category (presented by Giovanni Ribisi)
•    Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS, “Lion” – WINNER
•    James Laxton, “Moonlight”
•    Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC, “Silence”
•    Linus Sandgren, FSF, “La La Land”
•    Bradford Young, ASC, “Arrival”

Spotlight Category (presented by Dakota Johnson)
•    Lol Crawley, BSC, “Childhood of a Leader” 
•    Gorka Gómez Andreu, AEC, “House of Others” – WINNER
•    Ernesto Pardo, “Tempestad” 
•    Juliette van Dormael, “Mon Ange” (“My Angel”)

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television (presented by Darby Stanchfield)
•    John Conroy, “Penny Dreadful” (The Day Tennyson Died)
•    David Dunlap, “House of Cards” (Chapter 45)
•    Anette Haellmigk, “Game of Thrones” (Book of the Stranger)
•    Neville Kidd, “Outlander” (Prestonpans)
•    Fabian Wagner, BSC, “Game of Thrones” (Battle of the Bastards) – WINNER

Regular Series for Commercial Television (presented by Patrick J. Adams)
•    Tod Campbell, “Mr. Robot” (eps2.0_unm4sk-pt1.tc) – WINNER
•    John Grillo, “Preacher” (Finish the Song)
•    Kevin McKnight, “Underground” (The Macon 7)
•    Christopher Norr, “Gotham” (Wrath of the Villains: Mr. Freeze)
•    Richard Rutkowski, “Manhattan” (Jupiter)

Movie, Miniseries, or Pilot for Television (presented by Jason Schwartzman and John Schwartzman, ASC)
•    Balazs Bolygo, HSC, BSC, “Harley and the Davidsons” (Amazing Machine) 
•    Paul Cameron, ASC, “Westworld” (The Original)
•    Jim Denault, ASC, “All The Way”
•    Alex Disenhof, “The Exorcist” (Chapter One: And Let My Cry Come Unto Thee)
•    Igor Martinovic, “The Night Of” (Subtle Beast) – WINNER

All recipients were first-time winners. Wagner was previously nominated for episodes of “Game of Thrones” in 2016 and 2015.

Special awards presented during the ceremony included:

  • The ASC Board of Governors Award was presented to Denzel Washington (“Fences,” “Glory,” “Training Day”) by Samuel L. Jackson for his significant and indelible contributions to cinema through his body of work. It is the only ASC Award not given to a cinematographer, and is reserved for filmmakers who have been champions for directors of photography and the visual art form.
  • The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Ed Lachman, ASC (“Carol,” “Far from Heaven,” “Mildred Pierce”) and presented by director and frequent collaborator Todd Haynes.
  • The ASC Career Achievement in Television Award was presented to Ron Garcia, ASC (“Murder in the Heartland,” “The Day Lincoln was Shot”) by Steven Poster, ASC. 
  • Philippe Rousselot, ASC, AFC (“A River Runs Through It,” “Hope and Glory,” “Henry & June”) received the ASC International Award from actress Rachel Nichols.
  • Nancy Schreiber, ASC (“Your Friends and Neighbors,” “The Nines,” “The Comeback,” “The Family,” “Better Things”) was bestowed the ASC Presidents Award by James Chressanthis, ASC, GSC. This award is given not only for the recipient’s body of work, but dedication to the organization and its mission of advancing the art of cinematography through education.  
  • The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction was given to Bruce Berke, longtime motion picture marketing and sales executive and ASC Awards show director, and Frank Kay, marketing director at J.L. Fisher and chairman of the ASC Awards Sponsorship Committee. This award is presented to an ASC Associate Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion picture industry.