The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has named the cinematographers and programming that are in contention for the 34th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards.

The slate of ASC Awards includes, for the first time, a category for exceptional cinematography in nonfiction filmmaking. All four of the documentary cinematographers cited are receiving their first-ever ASC Award nominations.


• Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma – Honeyland

• Nicholas de Pencier – Anthropocene: The Human Epoch

• Evangelia Kranioti – Obscuro Barroco

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

• David Luther – Das Boot, “Gegen die Zeit” (episode 6) (Sky)
• M. David Mullen, ASC – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “Simone” (Amazon)
• Chris Seager, BSC – Carnival Row, “Grieve No More” (Amazon)
• Brendan Steacy, CSC – Titans, “Dick Grayson” (DC Universe)
• Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC – The Handmaid’s Tale, “Night” (Hulu)

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

• Dana Gonzales, ASC – Legion, “Chapter 20” (FX)
• C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC – Project Blue Book, “The Flatwoods Monster” (History)
• Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC – Legion, “Chapter 23” (FX)
• Peter Robertson, ISC – Vikings, “Hell” (History)
• David Stockton, ASC – Gotham, “Ace Chemicals” (FOX)

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

• John Conroy, ISC – The Terror: Infamy, “A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest” (AMC)
• P.J. Dillon, ISC – The Rook, “Chapter 1” (Starz)
• Chris Manley, ASC – Doom Patrol, pilot (DC Universe)
• Martin Ruhe, ASC – Catch-22, “Episode 5” (Hulu)
• Craig Wrobleski, CSC – The Twilight Zone, “Blurryman” (CBS All Access)

The awards will be given out at a ceremony scheduled for January 25 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

The ASC: