Boris Mojsovski, Adriano Goldman and Mathias Herndl Win TV Awards; Mart Taniel Is Honored with Spotlight Award

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC, became a five-time ASC Award-winner over the weekend, earning his fourth award for feature-film cinematography, along with the Lifetime Achievement Award he took home in 2011, for his work on Blade Runner 2049.

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC
Photo courtesy the ASC

The win does not necessarily presage an Oscar win for the DP, who has never taken home an Academy Award despite 12 nominations over the years, but it does suggest 13 could finally be his lucky number.

Deakins, who was working on The Goldfinch in New York City over the weekend, was unable to attend the ASC Awards. His previous ASC Award wins include Skyfall (2013), The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002), and The Shawshank Redemption (1995).

The Crown: “Smoke and Mirrors”

Boris Mojsovski, CSC, won the award for episodic commercial television series for his work on 12 Monkeys episode “Thief” for Syfy, and Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, was honored for episodic non-commercial television for shooting The Crown episode “Smoke and Mirrors” for Netflix.

Mathias Herndl, AAC was lauded in the Motion Picture, Miniseries or Pilot Made for Television category for his photography of “Einstein: Chapter 1” for National Geographic’s Genius, and Mart Taniel, ESC, won the Spotlight Award, honoring work by non-U.S. filmmakers, for the Estonian film November.

A complete list of ASC Award-winners. including previously announced honorary awards, is available at the ASC website, along with video clips from the ceremony that took place Saturday, February 17.

The ASC Awards: