The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has released the list of nominees for its 2018 Student Heritage Awards, this year recognizing exceptional work by 13 students of cinematography at 10 universities around the U.S.

The awards are given out in three categories that are renamed each year for different members of the ASC. This year’s graduate award is named for Sol Negrin, ASC (Kojak); the undergraduate award for Gerald Hirschfield, ASC (Young Frankenstein), and the documentary award for Haskell Wexler (One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest).

Here is the list of finalists for this year’s Student Heritage Awards, as provided by the ASC:

ASC Sol Negrin, ASC Student Heritage Award – Graduate Category:

  • Brody Anderson for Drawn Curtains, Chapman University – Dodge College
  • Steven Breckon for A Place to Stay, American Film Institute (AFI)
  • Andres Gallegos for Shoe Shiner, San Francisco State University
  • Yair Halper for Sauna, American Film Institute (AFI)
  • Heyjin Jun for Difficult People, University of Southern California (USC) School of Cinematic Arts

ASC Gerald Hirschfield, ASC Student Heritage Award – Undergraduate Category:

  • Jack Craymer for Sonora, Chapman University – Dodge College
  • Matthew Hayward for The Latent Image, Columbia College Chicago
  • Grace Marrero for The Girl and the Bird, Florida State University (FSU) College of Motion Picture Arts
  • Simms Wright for Sodium Vapor Nights, University of North Carolina (UNC) School of the Arts

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award:

  • Alejandro Cortes Sanchez for Adrift, School of Visual Arts NYC
  • Rachel Lattin for Monumental, Chapman University – Dodge College
  • Minagi Tanaka for She Comes at Night, State University of New York at New Paltz
  • Xinzhong Zhao for Francis Ford Coppola’s Live Cinema, University of California Los Angeles (UCLA)

The ASC: