Casting director David Rubin was elected the 37th president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) by the AMPAS Board of Governors on Tuesday night. He replaces outgoing President John Bailey in the role.

Rubin, who is beginning his seventh year as a governor in the organization, is the first casting director to become president, AMPAS said. His credits include The English PatientMen in BlackHairspray, and William Shakespeare’s Romeo + Juliet.

Also elected to officer positions in yesterday’s voting were make-up artist Lois Burwell, re-elected as first vice president (chair, Awards and Events Committee), producer Sid Ganis, re-elected as vice president (chair, Museum Committee), screenwriter Larry Karaszewski, re-elected as vice president (chair, Preservation and History Committee), Fox Searchlight Chairman Nancy Utley, re-elected as vice president (chair, Education and Outreach Committee), producer Mark Johnson, new in the position of treasurer (chair, Finance Committee), and producer Bonnie Arnold, new in the position of secretary (chair, Membership and Governance Committee).