The Visual Effects Society said it plans to recognize FotoKem Chief Strategy Officer Mike Brodersen, VFX supervisor Michael Fink, and former member of VES leadership Susan Thurmond O’Neal with special awards at a reception in October.

Mike Brodersen, Michael Fink, and Susan O'Neal

Mike Brodersen, Michael Fink, and Susan O’Neal

O’Neal, who joined VES in the late 1990s, will be given the 2019 VES Founders Award for sustained contributions to the art, science or business of visual effects and meritorious service to the society. She has worked at The Mill, Side Effects Software and Digital Domain, and is today a recruiter for BLT Recruiting.

Michael Fink, who directed the first Coca-Cola polar bear spot in 1993, helping introduce 3D fur to CG creatures, will receive a Lifetime VES Membership. His visual-effects resume includes War GamesBatman ReturnsThe Golden Compass and  Life of Pi.

Mike Brodersen, who has been at FotoKem for 25 years, will receive an Honorary VES Membership for his work related to services including film scanning and recording, DI, digital restoration, software development and file-base dailies. Recent FotoKem clients have included Once Upon a Time … in HollywoodAquaman and Green Book.

Additionally, VES announced three Hall of Fame honorees: animation pioneer Walt Disney (1901–1966), filmmaker Stanley Kubrick (1928–1999), and Marvel Comics impresario Stan Lee (1922–2018). Before his death, Lee received a VES Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Our VES honorees represent a group of exceptional artists, innovators and professionals who have had a profound impact on the field of visual effects,” said VES Board Chair Mike Chambers, in a prepared statement. “We are proud to recognize those who helped shape our shared legacy and continue to inspire future generations of VFX practitioners.”

Visual Effects Society: