The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) announced the nominees for the Theatrical and Spotlight categories of the organization’s Outstanding Achievement Awards — including a 16th nomination for four-time ASC Award-winner Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC.

Only one of the nominees in the Theatrical Release category —Lawrence Sher, ASC — is a first-timer.

Roger Deakins

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC, on location for 1917
Universal Pictures

Nominated in the Theatrical Release category are Deakins for 1917, Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC, for Ford v Ferrari, Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for The Irishman, Robert Richardson, ASC, for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, and Sher for Joker.

Nominated for the Spotlight Award, which recognizes work in films with limited release patterns, are Jarin Blaschke for The Lighthouse, Natasha Braier, ASC, ADF, for Honey Boy and Jasper Wolf, NSC, for Monos.

The ASC’s nominees for documentary cinematography, as well as in various television categories, were revealed in November.

The winners of the 34th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards are slated to be announced during a January 25 ceremony at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Trailer: 1917

Trailer: Ford v Ferrari

Trailer: The Irishman

Trailer: Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Trailer: Joker

Trailer: The Lighthouse

Trailer: Honey Boy

Trailer: Monos

The ASC: