At Hollywood’s Mann Chinese Theater last night,  the first International 3D Society “Lumiere Awards” were bestowed on talent in front of and behind the 3D camera. Based in Los Angeles, the newly formed International 3D Society‘s mission is to advance the arts and sciences of 3D technologies and content through educational initiatives, “hands on” demonstrations and recognition for stereoscopic 3D professionals. The Society’s Board of Governors and its general membership span the growing stereoscopic industry, with representatives from the major studios, in-home, producers, technology suppliers, exhibitors, and distributors.

As might be expected, Avatar garnered six Lumiere Awards and the  “People’s Choice Award for Favorite 3D Movie –Live Action.” The awards were accepted on behalf of the filmmakers by Avatar co-star, Giovanni Ribisi.

Actor Brendan Fraser received the Society’s 3D Talent Award, in honor of his work as both actor and executive producer of the  3D feature film Journey to the Center of the Earth in 3D. The International 3D Society also recognized Jeffrey Katzenberg, 3D visionary and CEO of DreamWorks Animation SKG, with the  3DVision Award.

Eleven additional Lumiere Awards and two  People’s Choice Awards in 3D were bestowed. They are:

Live Action 3D Feature of the Year:  Avatar from 20th Century Fox studios

Animated 3D Feature of the Year: UP from Pixar

Short 3D motion picture/narrative: Partly Cloudy from Pixar

Best 3D documentary: Under the Sea 3D from IMAX

Outstanding Achievement of 2D-to-3D converted Feature: G-Force, from Sony Imageworks and the Walt Disney Studios

Best 3D Character of the Year: Neytiri from Avatar

Best 3D Scene of the Year: Avatar and Jake Sully for “First Flight”

Best 3D Stereography – Live Action: Avatar

Best 3D Stereography – Animated: Coraline from Focus Features

Outstanding Achievement in 3D Visual Effects: Avatar

Outstanding Achievement for Marketing 3D Content: 20th Century Fox for Avatar

Additionally, the International 3D Society had previously partnered with the People’s Choice™ Awards, where nominees in the category of “People’s Choice™ Awards in 3D” were announced during the January 6, 2010, telecast of that event. Fans voted online through January 20th, selecting the two “People’s Choice™ Awards in 3D” winners below:

2010 People’s Choice Award – Favorite 3D Live Action Movie: Avatar

2010 People’s Choice Award – Favorite 3D Animated Movie: Coraline

International 3D Society president Jim Chabin stated, “The First Annual International 3D Awards represent the first time in motion picture history that achievement in the 3D art form has been recognized,” said International 3D Society president Jim Chabin. “We believe tonight’s event was just the beginning of a lasting and appropriate recognition of 3D professionals by the international filmmaking community.”

3D Awards Co-Chair and Board of Governors member Charlotte Huggins, a film producer with Salient Features, remarked, “For those of us who’ve worked in 3D and labored to bring magic to the screen, 2009 was an incredible year, and 2010 promises to top even our wildest expectations.” Added Awards Co-Chair and First-Vice Chair Lenny Lipton, president, Oculus3D, “For a long time, many have wanted to create an appropriate recognition for outstanding achievement in the spectacular medium of 3D. With the support of a great many, the establishment of the new International 3D Society represents the first community to finally accomplish the bestowing of appropriate awards.”

Sponsors of the International 3D Society Awards included XpanD (which provided its XpanD 3D system for the show and co-produced it); MasterImage 3D, and MadM3dia Entertainment, Inc. Additional sponsors for the 3D Awards event included Passmore Labs; Technicolor, and the trailer department at Laser Pacific Media Corp.

The “Lumiere” statuettes presented at the ceremony were designed and sculpted by artist Eileen Borgeson, and were crafted by the R.S. Owens Company of Chicago, manufacturers of the Oscars Awards.

The International 3D Society’s Board of Governors include: Dr. Marty Banks, UC Berkeley and Board Seat, The Walt Disney Studios; Sandy Climan, CEO, 3ality Digital; Maria Costeira, CEO, XpanD; Rob Engle, 3D Visual Effects Supervisor, Sony Pictures Imageworks;  Charlotte Huggins, producer, Salient Features;  Peter Koplik, EVP, Master Image 3D; Brian Lenz, Director, Product Design & TV Product Development, BSkyB; Mike Polydoros, EVP of Exhibitor Relations/Operations, Lionsgate, and Kurt Schwenk, VP of Post Production Services, Paramount Pictures.